The Leopold Levytsky Art and Memorial Museum was opened on 11 April 1989 in the artist's former house at 10 M. Ustianovycha Street, apartment 1. The artist lived there since 1946. The house, built in 1891 by the architect H. Bizants, received its modern appearance after reconstruction in the mid-1960s. The decisive role in the creation and opening of the museum was played by the artist's wife, Hanna Bentsionovna Levytska. Thanks to the perseverance of the artist's wife and the initiative of the city's public, it was decided in 1981 to establish the Art-Memorial Museum of the Artist. In accordance with the will of 18 November 1982, the entire creative work of Leopold Ivanovych Levytsky was transferred to the Lviv Museum of Ukrainian Art (now the Andrey Sheptytsky National Museum in Lviv). After the death of Hanna Levytska in 1988, Leopold Levytskyi's estate was transferred to the Lviv Museum of Ukrainian Art. In the same year, work began on the first permanent exhibition of the Art-Memorial Museum, whose staff tried to preserve the unique atmosphere of Leopold Levytskyi's house.

Today the Levytsky Museum is a department of the Andrei Sheptytsky National Museum in Lviv. On 13 June 2008, an updated exposition was opened, telling the full story of Levytsky's life and work, presenting his main achievements and artistic preferences, and recreating the special environment in which Levytsky lived and worked. With the beginning of the full-scale invasion on 24 February 2022, the exhibition was dismantled. However, the museum continues to operate as part of the museum's educational programme, holding master classes, museum and integrated lessons and lectures. Since 2010, the annual Christmas and New Year's card competition (in memory of Leopold Levytskyi) has been held, with participants aged 6 to 36 from all over Ukraine. Despite the war, the 14th edition was held in 2023, with 850 participants from Ukraine and the United States.